Stanley R. Arnold Scholarship FundThe Board of Directors of the New England State and Local Tax Forum is pleased to announce the launch of the 2024 Stanley R. Arnold Scholarship Fund application process. This Scholarship honors Stanley R. Arnold, the Forum’s founder and former President, for his exemplary service to the state and local tax field for over 30 years.  In addition to celebrating Mr. Arnold’s decades of extraordinary service in both the government and private sectors, this Scholarship is intended to express appreciation for Stan’s personal commitment and contributions to promoting, encouraging, and enabling continuing education in the area of state and local taxation and tax policy.

Each year, the Scholarship will endow a one-time $5,000 award to a deserving full or part-time student enrolled in a qualifying tax program, who demonstrates a course of study in state tax and involvement in (or commitment to) the state tax field and who has worked (or is working) to improve relations between private and government sectors.  A new recipient will be selected each year. This Scholarship is a fitting tribute to an esteemed leader who has made outstanding contributions – locally and nationally – to the state and local tax field over the last 30 years.

Scholarship Highlights

    • AWARD: $5,000
    • APPLICANTS: eligible students in MST, J.D. or LL.M. “Qualifying Tax Programs” in New England
    • AWARD GRANTED: on or after August 1st
    • INVITATION: to attend annual Forum conference in November

All interested students should review the attached Scholarship materials for specific eligibility criteria, application and important deadlines.

DEADLINE: July 1, 2024

Click here to download the scholarship PDF application

Prior Scholarship Award Recipients

2023 – Ryan Assarian, Northeastern University & Jeff Minjae Kim, Boston College Law School

2022 – Constance Chien, University of Connecticut School of Law

2021 – Jacqueline Krozy, Bentley University, McCallum Graduate School of Business

2020 – Robert Brownell, University of Connecticut School of Law

2019 – Sebastian Iagrossi, University of Connecticut School of Law

2018 – Maryam A. M. Entezarian, University of Connecticut School of Law

2017 – Anna Mikhaylina, University of Maine School of Law

2016 – Joshua Correia, University of Connecticut School of Law

2015 – Zachary Alexander, University of Connecticut School of Law